Verification: 88fe1d504aea8ad5 # SOVRN, 400418, DIRECT, fafdf38b16bf6b2b #SOVRN, 400418-eb, DIRECT, fafdf38b16bf6b2b #SOVRN, 538959099, RESELLER, 6a698e2ec38604c6, 137711, RESELLER, 5d62403b186f2ace, 156212, RESELLER, 5d62403b186f2ace, 17960, RESELLER, 0bfd66d529a55807, 1019, RESELLER, f5ab79cb980f11d1, 12444764291, RESELLER, 558511, RESELLER 263851110895354 google-site-verification=c5jmbe3Z58CqGDU8xGRhtEEbLr7QlySbG_IoVolrBbg
top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • TikTok

Charlotte Cardin Premiers Newest Tracks “Looping”, "Confetti" and "99 Nights"

Updated: Jul 21

Cardin relies on her natural instincts and has a stirring voice that she uses to express her personal experiences with unfiltered honesty in her music. Her EPs, "Big Boy" and "Main Girl," were immensely popular in Canada and internationally, boasting over 149 million career streams.

Her debut album, "Phoenix", published April 23, 2021, received critical acclaim from various publications such as The FADER and Harper's BAZAAR. The 13 track list include: Phoenix, Passive Aggressive, Anyone Who Loves Me, Meaningless , Daddy, Sex to Me, Good Girl, Sad Girl, XOXO, Oceans, Sun Goes Down (Buddy), Romeo and Je quitte.

A deluxe version of the album was released November 12, 2021, and features seven new tracks not found on the standard version. Notable additions include: “You Lie You Die,” “Changing,” and “Over Me,” all of which are B-sides initially written with the rest of Phoenix, and a remix of “Passive Aggressive” made by Johnny Goldstein, who in the past worked with artists such as Black Eyed Peas, John Legend, and Little Mix.

Charlotte Cardin unveiled “Sad Girl,”, Apr. 9, 2021, her anticipated debut full-length album Phoenix (arrived April 23rd, 2021 via Atlantic Records). Arriving alongside the mesmerizing video directed by Norman Wong (Drake, Halsey), song written by charlotte herself and James Brando.

“’Sad Girl’ is a revenge tale about a girl who has an infinite amount of tears and draws her power through sadness,” explains Cardin. “She therefore seeks sorrow in order to grow and eliminate her enemies (AKA all her exes).”

The track “Daddy” – was co-penned by Cardin, Jason Brando, Mathieu Sénéchal and produced by Brando and Marc-André Gilbert (MAG), the track arrives alongside a music video companion directed by Martin C. Pariseau.

“’Daddy’ is a song about kissing your crush right by the open bar,” muses Cardin. “Your crush’s other crush, standing by the shrimp buffet, sees it all. Your crush can’t choose between their two crushes, so you jump right in and choose for them. ‘Daddy’ is a song about knowingly making a bad decision and loving it.”

Single “Passive Aggressive”, drafted by Cardin herself, Jason Brando, and artistically created by the team effort of Brando, Marc-André Gilbert (MAG) and Connor Seidel, the track arrives alongside a captivating music video showcasing the beautiful yet twisted aftermath of a relationship gone awry.

Curling around a danceable bass line, “Passive Aggressive” glows with eighties gloss as Cardin’s vocal acrobatics enchant. “It’s basically a song about the relief, celebration, and liberation you feel once you get rid of a toxic relationship,” she explains. “It’s about a very passive aggressive ex and just those toxic vibes. It’s being happy to be on your own and embrace your inner strength.”

The album is critically acclaimed (and platinum certification in Canada) including a sweep of 2022 Juno Awards that included wins for Artist, Album, Pop Album and Single of the Year and a 2022 Polaris Music Prize nomination. Praised by HYPEBAE for its “rippling melodies” and “stunningly raw vocals,” the album held the #1 spot in Canada for two weeks and boosted Cardin to over 313 million combined global streams to date.

Charlotte Cardin premiered her newest tracks “Looping”, "Confetti" and "99 Nights"– are available now. This new track is part of the 12 track album which includes: "Puppy", "Enfer", "Confetti", "Way Back", "Jim Carrey", "How High", "Somebody First", "99 Nights", "Someone I Could Love", "Looping", "Daddy's a Psycho" and "Next to You". The song arrives alongside news of Cardin’s 99 Nights international headline tour, kicking off August 31st in Trois-Rivières, QC before hitting the US in October with stops at New York’s Irving Plaza on October 27th and Los Angeles’ El Rey Theatre on November 7th. Tickets go on sale starting Friday, May 12 at 10am local time, for full routing and ticket information, please visit

"Confetti" a party theme, announced April 11, 2023, produced by Jason Brando, Lubalin, Rob Grimaldi, and Sam Avant. Composed by Cardin herself, Jason Brando and Lubalin. “Confetti” is Cardin’s anthem for all the introverts out there.

“I had the realization that at every single party I had ever been to, I would lock myself in the bathroom at some point and try to compose myself and gather my thoughts,” Cardin said of the song’s inspiration in a press release. “And when I became aware of that, I thought, ‘Okay I should write a song about this.’ It’s a party track for people who hate actually being at the party.”

"99 Nights", the Montréal-born, Paris-based artist has created a catchy song that explores her desire for a distant lover. Her captivating vocals brilliantly convey an experience that many people can relate to. "99 Nights" begins with a mix of Cardin's striking vocals and guitar-driven instrumentals, evoking feelings of nostalgia. The singer's desperate plea to her lover begs for a way to rekindle the love and affection they once shared. Production assembled By Jason Brando and Digital Farm Animals: lyrics put together with the efforts of Charlotte Cardin, Jason Brando and Digital Farm Animals. She sings, how many nights before you take me / Back to the moment where I felt your love?/ ..........99 nights go by / Baby, that shit don't fly.........Am I looking for something / You could never give me at all?/

“Looping”, publicized May 12, 2023, music lyrics co-written by Jason Brando, Charlotte Cardin, Mr Hudson, Felix Joseph, Alan Bergman, Marilyn Bergman, and Marvin Hamlisch. Music production by Felix Joseph, Jason Brando, and Mr Hudson. This song was sampled from singer Barbra Streisand's 1973 song “The Way We Were”.

“I thought I was writing about Mr Hudson’s dog who sees life in black and white. Jay was under the impression we were writing about my obsessive thought patterns. Felix was randomly sampling Barbara Streisand’s ‘The Way We Were“. And somehow all of this made sense. Or did it? Fuck, I’m looping again.”


Note*subjects discussed are independently chosen by Steven Wick's editorial team.

Feel free to share and leave a comment, we would love to hear from you. Your feedback is very important to us.

For more like this, music, literature, news, fashion, savvy political commentary, and fascinating features, sign up for the Steven Wick News Letter.

We here at the Steven Wick Blog are so proud of our work, we’d like to thank you for being a part of our community. However, our mission to share so much from music, literature, lifestyle to fashion is a 24/7 undertaking! We need your help to continue our work. Your financial donation will help us not only keep the lights on, but enable us run many more stories in the future to come. DONATE HERE

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page